My OTF Apply
My OTF Apply

People behind OTF

Meet the the people behind OTF. Our Team, Advisory Council, and Fellows are a large community of people who speak dozens of languages, are from all over the world, know a lot about Internet Freedom, support hundreds of projects, and know how to make yours succeed.


Gabrielle Lim

As an information controls fellow, Gabrielle will work at Data & Society to investigate media manipulation and state response in Southeast Asia.
Advisory Council

Gunnar Hellekson

Gunnar Hellekson is the Chief Technology Strategist for Red Hat’s US Public Sector group, where he works with systems integrators and government agencies to encourage the use of open source software in government.

Information Controls Fellow

This Fellow will examine Internet censorship and surveillance in Egypt, particularly the adoption of regulations restricting digital freedoms and increasing information controls.

Information Controls Fellow

This Information Controls Fellow will examine internet censorship and surveillance in certain states of India, through the analysis of network measurements.

Iryna Chulivska

Iryna Chulivska is the co-founder and Head of the NGO Digital Security Lab Ukraine.
Advisory Council

Jantine van Herwijnen

Jantine van Herwijnen is working for Free Press unlimited in the Gender, Safety and Accountabillity team.
Advisory Council

Jenn Henrichsen

Jennifer R. Henrichsen is a doctoral research fellow at the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania, where she is researching the tensions between freedom of expression and regulation and surveillance by...
Advisory Council

Jillian C. York

Jillian C. York is Director for International Freedom of Expression at the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF), where her work focuses on user rights, digital security, and Internet regulation.
Advisory Council

John Adams

John Adams is an independent security advisor, focusing on information security, user privacy, and secure distributed systems.
Advisory Council

Karen Renaud

Karen leads the Security Science Cluster and coordinate the Human-Centred Security Research Group.
Advisory Council

Kevin Bankston

Kevin Bankston is the Director at New America Foundation’s Open Technology Institute; he also serves on the board of directors of the First Amendment Coalition.
Advisory Council

Leigh Honeywell

Leigh Honeywell is a Security Engineer at Slack.

Libby Liu

Ms. Liu provides strategic and operational direction to OTF as it supports the development of global Internet freedom tools.

Lindsay Beck

Lindsay joined RFA in June 2014 as a program manager, actively engaged in OTF’s day-to-day operations.

Mahsa Alimardani

Mahsa Alimardani is an Internet researcher, looking at the intersection of technology and human rights, particularly in Iran.
Advisory Council

Marcin de Kaminski

Marcin de Kaminski was a Policy Specialist at the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida), with a specific focus on ICT and digital development.

Marcus Michaelsen

As a Senior Information Controls Fellow, Marcus will work together with Hivos to investigate digital threats against diaspora activists from Egypt, Iran and Syria.
Advisory Council

Matt Mitchell

Matt is a security researcher, operational security trainer, and data journalist who leads CryptoHarlem, impromptu workshops teaching basic cryptography tools to the predominately African American community in upper Manhattan.
Advisory Council

Mohamad Najem

Mohamad ​leads and assists in various campaigns throughout the Arab world, mainly around ​​digital rights.
Advisory Council

Mohammed Al-Maskati

Mohammed al-Maskati is a Bahraini human rights activist and digital security consultant working with Front Line Defenders in the Middle East and North Africa region.